16 Guidelines for Happiness

Screen Shot 2012-07-01 at 12.31.03 PMHUMILITY: the attitude of experiencing the world and what it contains with wonder and awe, aware of the relative importance of self and others.

PATIENCE: the ability to control our reactions and retain our peace of mind in any situation, imperturbable in the face of harm and hardship.

CONTENTMENT: the state of mind that allows us to be quietly happy in any situation, and to be at peace with who we are.

DELIGHT: the genuine appreciation of the good in all persons, objects, and situations, rejoicing in its causes, and wishing its endurance.

KINDNESS: the intention to be friendly, caring, generous, benevolent, considerate, respectful, fair and affectionate to all.

HONESTY: the disposition to act without harming others, never placing our own interests ahead of theirs, and always cherishing the needs and wishes of others.

GENEROSITY: the wish to benefit others, sharing whatever time, energy, talents, and possessions we have.

RIGHT SPEECH: the commitment to use words skillfully, conveying peace, happiness, fearlessness, and hope, and bringing others closer to one another.

RESPECT: the acknowledgement that all sentient beings have the same basic physical, psychological, and spiritual needs, and that another’s experience and wisdom can be helpful to us.

FORGIVENESS: the capacity to reclaim our peace of mind when something has happened to disturb us.

GRATITUDE: the realization that we are neither independent nor self-sufficient, but part of an extraordinary continuum of events and beings, and the celebration of our mutually supportive connections.

LOYALTY: the lifeline that helps us to feel safe and supported, and enables us to function, free of anxiety and insecurity, loneliness and heartbreak.

ASPIRATION: the profound longing for purpose and fulfillment, joy and happiness, in the heart of every living being.

DISCIPLINE: the voluntary application of The Three Harvests to help us make difficult decisions when our immediate interests seem to be in conflict with the interests of others.

SERVICE: the practical expression of the wish to benefit others and increase their happiness.

COURAGE: the mental and moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear, or difficulty in the face of opposition, shame, scandal, and discouragement.

–Tashi Nyima (Great Middle Way)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s