We are not ‘made’ to eat animal flesh

IMG_0897The more I study Buddhism, the more amazed I am at my own ignorance.

One area is around the consumption of animals.

I have most of my life considered animals to be ‘food’ for humans. I never liked eating or preparing animals for meals, but I had the view that many of the species were here for my consumption!

Just the thought that they would be here for my pleasure is amazing in and of itself.  That we all as a society have that belief -and that it is so overshadowing all else- is mind boggling!

Now, if any of us take this argument to the family ‘pet’…we have a totally different feeling about it. Now, ‘what’ is the difference…truly? Is a cat, dog, parakeet or whatever the pet might be, ‘different’ and if so ‘how’? Would we allow our pets to be force fed, or put into a small cage, or given hormone shots to grow bigger faster…for our ‘use’…? Or, any of the horrible things we do to the animals we consume?

To top things off, many of us have the added belief, that we ‘need’ animal protein to survive — for us to feel ‘good’. This is simply not true. Animal flesh is in fact detrimental to our health.

If we were fed a strictly 100% animal diet, our bodies would go into ketosis after about 72 hours. Our bodies would start consuming our own flesh, because there are no nutrients for us in animal protein.

If we see a pig or chicken in its natural environment, do we start salivating and want to eat it on the spot? No! But, we do start salivating if we see a plum, a strawberry or other vegetables in nature or at the grocery store. We are not made to eat animals…Period.

We can get all the nutrients we need from a varied vegan diet. We will feel better. Our skin will be clearer. Our energy higher.

Sometimes when people try to change to a vegan or vegetarian diet they feel bad for a while. Part of it is that their bodies will be releasing toxic build-up from years of a mostly animal protein diet. Some people complain that they never feel ‘full’.  Well, animal flesh gives you a very different feeling in your stomach, as it takes so much longer to digest.

The hardest thing for me when I stopped eating animals (it even sounds all wrong!!) was that I had to re-program my mind. All the things that I was brought up to believe as ‘truths’, I had to let go of, and little by little, allow my mind to consider that maybe I was wrong…maybe they were not true. I had to start trusting that my body would be fine, and ‘watch’ what happened and how I felt. I learned to listen to my body, and I learned to trust my tongue to lead the way.

There is no lists of specific foods that all of us ‘should’ eat. Coffee is good for some and not for others. Mangos are good for some and not for others. Spicy food is OK for some and not so much for others. We are all of different constitutions, at different stages of life, living in different climates and with different requirements.

If we all were to check out any video on what happens; if we were to visit what goes on inside a meat/chicken/fish processing plants; if we saw how the animals were treated we would stop eating animal flesh right away. We might not even make it ‘in’ to the plant, because of the smell or the inhumane environment. I have watched a few of these videos in the past and it is even difficult to allow my mind to remember what I saw…

Consider what we humans do to rationalize our continued animal consumption. Animals are sentient beings, just like us, who want to be happy and to avoid suffering, just as much as we do.

We have to be kind to the animals, and to ourselves.

Love & Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, Health, In my own words... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

