Gratitude

Screen Shot 2012-10-21 at 9.22.53 AMI woke up this morning to inspiration, which led me to deep gratitude.

Gratitude for having connected with so many amazing people in this life; persons willing to share their gifts and their strong convictions with us all.

As human beings we are all afraid of so much, and so often we end up letting fear stand in our way of making ‘this’ experience something worth living for.

Show up for your life! It is here, it is now, and all it asks of us is to be ‘open’ to whatever comes our way.

Our mission before us is spiritual. Our challenge is to take full responsibility, to encourage others, and to see, to be and to share the light and love that is in each and every one of us.

I went to see the Tibetan monks at the Crow Collection of Asian Art here in Dallas yesterday afternoon. This time they are creating the sand mandala of ‘White Tara’ and it is stunning! It never stops amazing me how they are able to create such intricate detail with sand, and from memory. The first time I saw this spiritual art form was in 1999, and I was brought to tears at the beauty and touched by their unassuming, but powerful presence.

Reflecting on my brief visit – and a couple of moments sharing words with one monk on my way out – it felt as though time stopped for a short while. I can still recall that feeling this morning. No expectation or want, just ‘being’, and sharing a moment in time…

I have often shared with my teacher how being around him makes me feel like I am floating on clouds. He can walk beside me and I don’t even ‘know’ he is there. It is that same feeling of peace, of timelessness.

I honor my teacher, Tashi Nyima, and I bow with folded hands. What I have come to understand over the past few years of studying with him is that the kind of dedication and certainty that he has in the path, is not easy to come by.

He is also the most skilled teacher, able to impart the intricate meanings of the teachings in ways we can all understand. He is funny and he makes us laugh all the time.

I am incredibly grateful for his kindness, his love and compassion, his never-ending patience with me, and his example.

He is my inspiration and the light that guides me on my path.

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words..., Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gratitude

  1. Paloma says:

    Thank you Dawa for sharing the spiritual path, may the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas be always close to you.

  2. yolanda says:

    I honor your, my , our teacher, Tashi Nyima, and I bow with folded hands.
    Gratitude for having connected with you my dear Friend, Blessings, yolanda

Leave a Reply

