My One-Day Ordination

Screen Shot 2013-05-08 at 10.21.42 AM

Reflections…

I did a One-Day Ordination this past Saturday. I took 8 monastic vows, which is nothing compared to what nuns and monks take which are in the 2-300’s…

We had 3 practice sessions throughout the day during the retreat day, which started by us taking our vows. We could eat one vegan meal together for lunch, but the remainder of the 24 hours we were to drink liquids only. We were to do one more practice in the evening at home along with one more the next morning. We did not need to shave our heads…:)

While at home, it was so quiet and I found my way to some books on my bookshelf that I have not looked at in a long time. I had no cooking to do – except boiling water and making some miso. No computer, music, email, phone calls. It was so peaceful and I ended up reflecting on what I really want to do with my precious time when this was over…

Drinking my miso in a bamboo bowl, and another time some warm water with coconut butter in it, made me think of Japan and tea ceremonies. It seems like we here in the West eat and drink without much ceremony or reverence at all. We literally ‘throw something down’ in all haste oftentimes – sometimes even while working or watching TV. And, we are not very conscious of ‘what’ we eat or why we eat what we eat – whether it is even good for us? I also reflected on how I have food to eat every day, and how so many go without any food at all! What to do around these things…

So, as my 24 hours ended yesterday, and for the whole time since that time, I have been contemplating how to move forward with my newfound awareness. How to go back into my life and make my world richer for the experience?

I see these next few hours as a ‘window’ of opportunity. The same as when we have returned home from a vacation with newfound enthusiasm and have new ideas and plans for our lives. We want to make some substantial changes, but so often, a day or two passes, and the window is gone. The old habits and conditioning have taken over our lives once more and we are back in our old grooves…

What to do…?

Love & Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words..., Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My One-Day Ordination

  1. Dharma student says:

    Thank you, Dawa. This was a wonderful contemplation on how much of a difference a pause in our lives can make.

Leave a Reply

