Morning routine…and a regular practice

IMG_1537I was reading this article in the September issue of the Shambhala Sun last night, about Victor Chan’s few hour visit with the Dalai Lama at his inner sanctum of his residence in Dharmasala.

I was inspired by his morning routine, and also by the beauty of his environment – inside and out!

He wakes at 3:45 am and starts his morning with full prostrations, then he walks on a treadmill, meditates, and goes up on the roof of his residence and looks out over the mountains – still in darkness…this goes on for over 3 hours, in silence…

I thought about my prostrations that I do from a kneeling position before my practice in the morning, and today when I started at 5 am, I hesitated, but figured if the Dalai Lama can do full prostrations at the age of 78 first thing in the morning, I had better get up and start mine from standing as well…:)

And, I did — it is amazing how much work going up and down from standing can be…and how hot you get in a hurry! Well, there is a Tibetan yoga practice that is called tummo, which is kind of the precursor of interval training, that incorporates prostrations and other exercises. It is short, intense and amazingly effective! It gets your ‘fire’ going for sure…

Well, continuing my contemplation on his morning routine, and ‘living’ my own routine of meditation and yoga, starting around 5:30 am…I thought about how grateful I am to have this in my life, and how great it is to start the day with a practice that centers your body, energy and mind first thing. These days I could not do without it!

Having a regular practice may come easy for some of us, but for most it seems to take great suffering and pain before we realize the need, or see the benefit and the importance of study, contemplation, and training our mind.

If we don’t – the ego ends up running the show – and most of us know where that leads.

Effort. Discipline. Humility. Love. Wisdom and Compassion.

Love & Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words..., Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

