Memory lane…

Screen Shot 2012-10-31 at 6.50.36 AMMy teacher made some very memorable comments during a lecture this week. He said that every time we go down Memory lane, we are recreating an experience NOW. Don’t go there! There are muggers and robbers on Memory lane — it is not a good place to go.

A few years back, after meeting my teacher, I went through boxes and bins of old photographs, letters and other memorabilia that I had collected since arriving in this country 30+ years ago. It used to be that we sent letters between Europe and the US, so I kept them, being the one that ‘left’, I enjoyed having those to look at and read at times. And, it took so long between communications back then!

Well, the days and weeks that I spent weeding through all those items were both exhausting and they literally made me feel ill! I had to take a shower, and change environment for a while, just to ‘clear’ away all the emotions and stuff that had arisen while looking at pictures and reading stuff. It would have been much easier to just take it all to the dump, without looking, but…I wanted to make sure to not miss something potentially important. But, I am wiser for the experience. I don’t keep or have much any longer. I give away, throw out, or sell items I don’t need or use.

Boy, do I feel lighter! And, there is space for ‘new’ things to enter my world..

I encourage you all to consider the fact that ‘going back’ and ‘working through’ stuff is never beneficial. It only strengthens those tendencies that you are ‘remembering’ and keeps them alive in your awareness. My teacher related it to eating something that doesn’t sit well with you the first time, but you go back over and over to try it again!

Let things go…allow life to happen NOW…it will be much easier.

Love & Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words..., Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

