Temporary Monastic Ordination Retreat

IMG_0109This past weekend I attended a retreat with my Teacher: Tashi Nyima, where we took temporary monastic ordination for 24 hours — and, it was lovely and powerful!

We were not allowed to use any electronics, no speaking (except for at the one meal a day) as we observed noble silence; no make-up, no jewelry, no perfume, wearing simple dress. We received a katha when we took the vows, which served as our monastic robe during this time – tied on top of our clothing and a string around our wrists to symbolize our vows…these ties kept falling off people and you had to keep a watchful eye on them…:)

There is so much in our daily lives that we do that we could really cut out and it was so apparent that life could be much simpler than we make it. It was interesting to watch my mind as the hours passed…

At first my mind was so noisy that I felt as though I was on an airplane, with huge engines making that really loud buzzing sound. I noticed how crazy and fast my world has been spinning. I knew my job was not good for me in so many ways and being there was further confirmation that I was doing the right thing by leaving. My last day was the day before heading on the retreat.

I encourage any and all to take an opportunity to do a retreat next time Tashi la does one — or if you have an opportunity to do something similar somewhere else.

As we moved through the intensive practice session in this short a time span (10 in a day and a half, with the first session at 6 am and the last one at midnight) we had many opportunities to deepen our practice and to see ‘where’ our mind really takes us and to see if our practice is indeed working for us – or not!?

The true test is if we are a more compassionate and kind person in our ordinary lives – amongst the ‘not so perfect’ conditions and situations. If not…we may want to look at our practice and ask someone knowledgable for assistance…

I am off to visit my elderly parents and family for a little while, but I am sure to post once I return…Be well!

Love & Light!

 

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Temporary Monastic Ordination Retreat

  1. dharma pen says:

    For those of us who couldn’t be there, thank you so much for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

