Medicine Buddha (Healing Buddha) sand mandala

IMG_0218The monks from the Drepung Loseling Monastery are here in Dallas again making another magnificent sand mandala.

This spiritual art form is amazing to experience in person. It takes years of instruction and practice for the monks to learn to create one of these. When they begin they start with line drawings on a black background and then use these instruments you see in this photo to place the sand from the middle and up and out…I cannot believe the tiny detail that they create…Simply amazing!

I encourage you to go watch this at the Crow Collection of Asian Art here in Dallas this week while in progress…or if you live in another city — watch for a potential future event like it.

The first time I saw one created I was moved to tears…It can be transformative…it was for me.

Love & Light!

 

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

