Lama is a Tibetan word for teacher, and translates as ‘Great Mother’

img451Today I want to honor my amazing mother, who has always shown more patience, love and compassion to me, and to all she has come in contact with.

She is open to new ways and persons and can still get around and get by very well at almost 89.

This photo to me represents her spirit, and was taken some years ago on Paradise Island on one of our visits there…She is my role model in so many ways!

As I study the Dharma, I am continuously amazed at my own ignorance. 

The reality is that every choice I make – my every act of body, speech and mind – have an impact on the whole, which either perpetuate the collective ignorance, or have the power to slow it down and lessen the impact.

On this Mother’s Day…I encourage all of us to pause for a moment…and to please consider areas of our lives that could be improved and altered for the benefit of others.

The way we treat and act towards other human beings, is in many instances, quite disgraceful.

The way we treat, use and abuse animals is unspeakable.

In Tibetan, Lama means ‘Great Mother’ and in Buddhism we believe that all have been each others mother at one time.

How can we allow anyone who is as dear to us as our own mother, to be treated other than with great love and compassion?

How can we be happy if our mother is suffering?

If the whole is happy – it does after all include us as well!

The way to happiness is through working for the benefit of all sentient beings.

By the merit accrued through all our virtuous acts,

May all be free from suffering and the causes of suffering.

May all embrace happiness and the causes of happiness.

May all abide in peace, free from self-grasping.

May all attain the union of wisdom and compassion.

om ah hum so’ha.

Love and Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

