On this Saga Dawa day…

lineage-tree

Saga Dawa is an auspicious day for buddhists as it is the day that we celebrate the birth, the enlightenment, and the parinirvana of the Buddha.

On this auspicious day 4 years ago I took Bodhisattva vows along with the five precepts from my teacher: Tashi Nyima.

This picture depicts the New Jonang lineage tree and I am so glad to be in this specific lineage, and with this specific teacher.

Sometimes I just want to pinch myself, as I consider how very fortunate I am to have found the pure Dharma, and with such an amazingly skilled teacher who exemplifies all that the Buddha taught.

From the very beginning Tashi la told me to go and take teachings from other teachers. I knew he was ‘my’ teacher, but he kept encouraging me to go out and explore. Over and over…and…over again.

As I did, I gained much insight Tashi la’s guidance. I came to have a much stronger resolve in this lineage, and I found out how rare my situation was. To be able to receive regular teachings and ask questions, was priceless — and I discovered very quickly, not easy to come by.

The Buddha was the first one to ask us not to believe something simply because ‘he’ said it. He instructed us to check it against our reason and our experience; if we found it agreeable, to put it into practice – and if not, to put it aside.

As I look back on these years I have gone through a whirlwind of change. The fact that I took the five precepts with my bodhisattva vows -though at the time challenging- was the ‘perfect’ thing for me. It kept my resolve strong and my path straight. It made me thoroughly examine all my thoughts and actions to find out if what I heard and read indeed resonated with me.

Today I celebrate my good fortune, and the fortune of all others who have come in contact with Tashi Nyima along their path, and I thank Tashi la from the bottom of my heart for his amazing patience, kindness and compassion. I rejoice, and I pray:

Beings are numberless. I vow to save them all.

Delusions are inexhaustible. I vow to end them all.

Dharma gates are boundless. I vow to open them all.

The Great Middle Way is unsurpassable. I vow to become it for the benefit of all.

Love & Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

