Learn to cut off the emotions at the root

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 7.15.11 PMIt still amazes me how many layers of conditioning and old habits I have yet to shed!

And, when I think I have things under control – wham – life shows me: Not So!

At a lecture this past Sunday, my teacher was speaking of the fundamental problem we have with the identification of ‘I’, “Me’ and ‘Mine’, and how that is the beginning of all our problems: the view of a separate self, the view of duality.

Like Nagarjuna said so eloquently:

“This, therefore that.”

Well, I have been very happy with my ability to let go of late, and I felt that I was pretty much ‘there’ in many ways. Well..these past few weeks, there I was again fighting my ego in a dual. I created a huge crack in my foundation that has taken me a couple of weeks to repair — all because of my lack of awareness in the moment, and my inability to ‘stand down’. I have now waved the white flag, and gotten my ego to retreat.

My teacher says: “Do the needful and leave the emotions aside”.

Often easier said then done, but who would you want with you in an emergency situation? The person who is acting like a chicken with the head cut off – or, the person who can keep calm, cool and collected?

There is only one emotion that is not afflicted, and that is peace.

Only from a place of peace can we clearly see what is needed in a particular situation, and act from that place.

We are so good at elaborating and making up scenarios about anything and everything that is going on, as if the additional layers were necessary or even helpful!?

Pain is inevitable in this life, but suffering is optional…

Learn to cut off the emotions at the root – the root of self-identification.

Love & Light!

 

 

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learn to cut off the emotions at the root

  1. Beautifully expressed. Thank you for sharing, and for the timely reminder. May all be well with you, WG

  2. Dawa says:

    Thank you woodland gnome! All the best to you as well…Love & Light!

Leave a Reply

