Samaya Tara

Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 10.18.01 AMI have had a love/hate relationship with one of the deities in our lineage:  Samaya Tara. She is considered a ‘Protector’ and in our lineage she is said to protect our practice.

Tara is also the deity whose mantra you recite for protection from fear.

As I always had strong tendencies towards fear, her wrathful expression (even though she is actually quite gentle) was very confusing and even scary to me, and I did not understand her imagery very well. The skulls around her neck (which are to remind us of death and that our time here is short, so no time to waste); the fact that she has eight hands and three eyes (which are to symbolize her ability to help us in every way) etc.; are not commonplace for us here and now.

Her activity in all four directions, teach us to STOP unskillful acts we are doing currently, and to NOT START those unskillful acts we have yet to begin. To START skillful acts we have not yet started, and to NOT STOP those we are already doing.

This morning I woke up with the awareness that she has been there, right by my side for these past 5 years now, waiting patiently for me to ‘come around’ and appreciate her.

Only today did I truly feel this great love she has for us all, and to soften -and appreciate- her various forms, and consequently her activity.

All the Buddhas are ultimately ONE Buddha. There are so many of them, as we all have different aspects that we need to cultivate. Depending on ‘where’ we find ourselves on this path, we will have one that ‘speaks’ to us more than another. They all represent qualities that are inherent in us, but that are currently veiled.

Her qualities has helped me keep my path straight, my practice strong, and has allowed me to soften around fear and not have it run my life. Through thick and thin, I have made myself get on the cushion to practice, and what a blessing it has been to me.

The greatest thing we can do for ourselves and others, is change our own minds. By our ability to remain peaceful, and act from a place of clarity, can we truly have an impact.

I pray that I will continue on this path and not stray, and I now have certainty that Samaya Tara will keep my path straight.

With great appreciation today

(and on the heals of the New Moon practice to Samaya Tara last night):

om tare tuttare ture so’ha

Love & Light!

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

