Living the Dharma in my day to day life is the challenge now…

553814_350627278353293_654592488_nLiving the Dharma in my day to day life is the challenge now…

Having heard, contemplated and meditated on the teachings for over five years, I have firsthand experience that they are, and have been, the most beneficial thing I have ever done.

I have daily practices that allow my body, speech and mind to keep in harmony (to a large extent) and I have found greater overall satisfaction and peace in my life. I know that I am the only one responsible for my actions, and the consequences of those actions, and it is a very empowering place to operate from in this world.

Having said all that, it never ceases to amaze me how complicated Mind is. How it can make something so simple so complex, and then elaborate on it to no end — if allowed.

The big problem we have is that we have a sizable gap between our View and our actions. The Great Teachers are ‘Great’ because they have no gap between their View and their actions. Their actions are their View. Their View is vast and deep. Our View is narrow and shallow, and then … with practice … we can expand little by little from there.

Living the Dharma does however, take a lot of effort, as it requires us to be mindful of the teachings, vigilant of our conduct, keeping the 5 precepts in the front of our mind as we make choices in this world. However, knowing karma (action and consequence) makes the choices much easier once we realize that we are after all, the ones who suffer if we make unskillful choices along the way!

I am currently working in a temporary position, which could turn into a permanent job. Having very little time left over for Dharma study has made me ‘see’ the reality which the teachings have always pointed to. The Dharma has to be lived, each and every moment of our days. If we simply go to teachings, read or intellectualize about them, then we are entirely missing the point.

I have found myself moving through my days these past couple of weeks, allowing my feelings and emotions to -for the most part- come and go. This is the never ending challenge. To ‘live’ my View in each and every experience, while keeping my peace that I know deep down to be my true nature. My intention is to leave a place, a being or a situation, better than I found them. To share a kindness, do the needful, to help whenever and wherever possible. And…I know that to do this, I have to take care to sleep, eat, drink enough water etc…for me to follow through each day.

I am realizing my good fortune for having this opportunity I have right now. I have kind and professional people to work with, a beautiful office, a location close to home. Having the Dharma in my ‘toolkit’ is allowing me to let go of all the hope and fear that we normally take into a situation like this. I trust that the process is taking me where I need to be. If not this, than something else. It really does not matter ‘what’ we do as long as we can sustain a living and keep our peace.

My teacher continued his teachings on Lam Rim (Stages of the Path) this past Thursday, and called us to action. He said that it is wonderful to wish others well from a distance, but if we don’t start standing up for what we know in our hearts and minds to be true, what are all the teachings for?

It is time to take all I have learned into my daily life ‘full time’.

Love & Light!

 

 

About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma, In my own words... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

