Neither Scapegoats Nor Sacrificial Lambs

Great Middle Way

12191864_694613043971507_3596832224193851047_nKarma purification takes two main forms: applying the 4 Rs (Regret, Reliance, Resolve, and Reparation) to those previous acts that have not yet ripened, and enduring with patience the consequences of previous acts that are already ripening. We have paid much attention to the former (, but the latter is equally necessary.

“Enduring with patience” is not passive resignation. We utilize our suffering to reduce the suffering of others. How? We also apply the 4 Rs, but with a different focus.

  • We regret the cause of our present suffering, rather than the suffering itself, which is only an effect.
  • We rely on the instructions of the Buddha, contemplating the Five Remembrances:
    • I am sure to age. I cannot avoid aging.
    • I am sure to become ill. I cannot avoid illness.
    • I am sure to die. I cannot avoid death.
    • I am sure to be separated from all that…

View original post 233 more words


About Dawa

I am a student of Yoga, Ayurveda, and Dharma. My intention with this blog is to write down all that I have learned along the way, in hopes that you will also find something to be helpful on your path, should you happen to find me. Love & Light!
This entry was posted in Dharma. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s